Paydays

“For everything you do in life, you get a payday,” he said. Driving through the West Virginia, Pennsylvania and Maryland mountains, I reflected on his words.

My day often starts with listening to pray-as-you-go.org. One day’s reading featured  The Parable of the Vineyard that is recorded in Matthew 20:1-16. To summarize, a land owner hires workers early in the morning, hiring more workers at 9am, noon, 3pm and 5pm. When the vineyard workers collected their wages, each received the same amount whether they started early in the morning or at 5pm.

I thought about my prayer time. Do I clear my calendar to pray early in the morning, at 9am, noon, 3pm and 5pm? Parables speak to us in different ways. There is a payday for what we do with our lives. Some of us begin work early, some begin late in our “days.” God is generous no matter when we begin. “Take what belongs to you and go. I want to give to this one who was hired last the same as I give to you. Don’t I have the right to do what I want with what belongs to me? Or are you resentful because I’m generous?’ So those who are last will be first. And those who are first will be last.” (Matthew 20: 14-16, CEB)

Paydays start any day. Through prayer, we get to know our generous God whenever we begin, early or late in the day. After all, we belong to God.  Start now.

 

 

Leave a Reply

