What Music is in You?

We were absorbed in the soundtrack from the movie Platoon. Minutes later, someone shared the impact of the soundtrack from HBO’s mini series, Band of Brothers. The soundtrack resonated in the bones of a son’s father, a WWII veteran.

Last Sunday’s worship service opened with Sister Sledge’s We Are Family which brought down the house. Surely God was smiling. The sermon was based on Psalm 133,

A pilgrimage song. Of David. 

Look at how good and pleasing it is
when families live together as one!

It is like expensive oil poured over the head,
running down onto the beard—
Aaron’s beard!—
which extended over the collar of his robes.

It is like the dew on Mount Hermon
streaming down onto the mountains of Zion,
because it is there that the Lord has commanded the blessing:
everlasting life. (CEB)

Music is the Universal Language of Mankind wrote a gifted high school musician in a yearbook more than 45 years ago. He went on to play for Stevie Wonder, Tom Jones and others.

What is it about music that grabs us, touching the center of our souls? To me, music is mystical. I remember listening to George Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue one day when my father came home from work. “Turn it down, you’re shaking the leaves on the trees,” he said. I complied, turning it down but I felt Gershwin’s music in my soul and I still do today. Music can release me from where I am to where I might go. Gershwin, Rachmaninoff, Chuck Berry, Elvis, the Beatles……James Brown? Garth Brooks? Hymns? What music is in you? What music resonates in your soul?

Our nephew visited during spring break. One afternoon the two of us talked about music after he set up my Apple TV. He is a four part harmony aficionado. We shared music, sitting close together on our couch before leaving for dinner. “I want you to watch a documentary,” I said. We watched 20 Feet From Stardom that won this year’s Oscar for Best Documentary Feature. He enjoyed it.

In July, our nephew returned with friends. They purchased tickets to a performance by the Liberty Voices. An afternoon after the performance I picked him up. When he got into my car he said he told his friend, “If my aunt is driving her car, you will hear the “Liberty Voices.” Sure enough, The Magic of Voices CD greeted them when they got into the car. We laughed together, listening to the CD, thankful for a gift from friends.

Music is a universal language that bridges gaps, bonds people together, and creates irreplaceable memories. Go ahead, turn up the volume and shake the leaves on the trees. It’s okay when someone asks you to turn it down. You’ve got the music in you. Play on.

To watch the trailer from 20 Feet From Stardom, click here.

4 thoughts on “What Music is in You?

  1. I enjoyed reading this…..I agree with you Music is within us….we all have our favorties…thanks for sharing this with me….loved it…and I love you….hope you know that…Toni Leigh

    Sent from Windows Mail

Leave a Reply

