Marching Orders

“What time will you be home? I would like to leave right away to avoid school traffic.” Taking a brief trip to Vero Beach, I received my “marching orders” on Sunday.

What time will you be home Tuesday? He’s ready for the hustle to accomplish his mission, finding nesting turtles. My Tuesday mornings start in a Centering Prayer Group made up of amazing men and women who s-l-o-w down to listen for God’s voice.

Inside I chuckle. He is on a mission to discover nesting turtle sites. I’m the laid back observer, taking it all in, seeking the Spiritual signs around the Atlantic Ocean waters, in the wind and on the sand.

Part of his planned itinerary, “We’ll go to Ocean Grill for dinner Tuesday night.” Okay. Centering Prayer is a disciplined practice that encourages “Letting Go” of the chatter, noise, sometimes chaos that impedes our ability to hear God. To quote Thomas Keating, “God’s first language is silence.”

I love it. I’ll be in my own space, working with whatever comes along, searching for nesting turtles. He’s on a mission. I will be open to where the Spirit leads.

He says, “Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.” (Psalms 46:10, NIV)

Above one of the doors at the Basilica of the National Shrine of Mary, Queen of the Universe, Orlando, FL

Above one of the doors at the Basilica of the National Shrine of Mary, Queen of the Universe, Orlando, FL

 

Leave a Reply

