Wade in the Water

Wade in the Water

October 18-20, the Florida Writers Association Annual Conference took place at the Lake Mary Marriott.  I was coming from a schedule of activities that doesn’t look as daunting as it did then.  Flying by the seat of my pants, I drove from a weekly dinner to the Lake Mary Marriott which would be home for the next three nights.  I forgot to bring bottled water.  My friend in the adjacent room had a full supply of alkaline positive water.  She gave me a 6-pack.

Wade in the Water

Wade in the Water

My family has been drinking bottled water since the early 80s.  My husband had a nuclear meltdown when I bought bottled water at the Denver airport in the late 90s.  He couldn’t stand the thought of paying for water.  We drink reverse-osmosis water from a special tap installed in our kitchen.

I wanted to repay my friend and fellow writer’s water generosity, to replenish the water she graciously gave to me.  My local grocery store overcharged me for a 6-pack of Fiji water, known to be alkaline neutral water.  Overcharged, what did I purchase that amounted to an $87.00 grocery tab?  I was in shock!  The water should have been $5.49.  I was charged $7.49.  The hairs on my neck rose.  I had the receipt.  I returned to the store, telling my psyche to be kind and gentle.

The service counter employee didn’t believe me.  We walked to the store’s display, $5.49, for Fiji Water.  The few things I had in my basket ended with me receiving 96 cents back for my purchases because of the store’s error.

I have alkaline water to return to my friend.  Free water for me, but think about free water.  Slaves often sang a song, “Wade in the Water.”  Water, pure clear water is a good, unless one needs to hide.

Drink in true living water, John 7:38 reads “and let the one who believes in me drink. As the scripture has said, ‘Out of the believer’s heart shall flow rivers of living water.’” (NRSV)  Wade into the living water and drink to refresh a thirsty soul.

Leave a Reply

