Transitions

It has been a whirlwind of activity for me.  Thursday, October 17, I left for the Florida Writers Association Annual Conference at the Orlando Marriott Lake Mary.  Overwhelmed with good writing information, tools, presentations by excellent professionals, I returned home around 1pm on Sunday in time to re-pack for a road trip to visit my dad.  While re-packing, I was installing updates to my new iPhone 5S on my computer, an ordeal that continues as I key.  My husband was distributing bread to needy families at two motels while I was trying to update a new iPhone before we left.  Nothing goes as planned.  We left home around 7pm, spending the night in Brunswick, GA, 20 minutes from Jekyll Island.  How I wish Jekyll Island was my evening’s destination.  Perhaps another time.  The new iPhone isn’t functioning correctly, not that Jekyll Island would have made a difference, but I can pretend can’t I?  If only….

We continued our trip through the Blue Ridge, Great Smokey and Appalachian Mountains.  Though colors were not quite at peak, we took in the brush strokes of the Creator, at times gasping at  Autumn’s colors.

Autumn Colors

Autumn Colors

Two days later, my heart sank as I read an email that our beloved friend Skip passed to glory on Monday 21 October.  Tears welled in my eyes as I read the email from his wife.  The next day, one of my daily devotionals featured part of Rachmaninoff’s Vespers, “The Canticle of Simeon,” based on Luke 2:29-32.  “Master, now you are dismissing your servant in peace, according to your word; for my eyes have seen your salvation,…”  I made a solid connection, listening to God’s words, knowing Skip is at peace.

Leave a Reply

